Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Contractors

Are you one of the millions who work for Uncle Sam but is not employeed by him? If so, then you are part of the federal contrators' world. This forum is created to allow contrators to share experiences and give insight to others.

FederalSoup is a FREE forum site dedicated to serving the needs of federal contractors, so please keep this forum on topic and focused. This will help make this community valuable. Thanks for your cooperation.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
steppinthrax  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 10:54:06 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
So here's the deal,

I've been a contractor for a few years now. I've been with this new contract with a federal agency for over a year now. However, my contract is up for re-compete simply because it's reached the 5 year mark. The gov and this company I'm with have a good relationship as demonstrated by 20 years of work (4 successful re-competes!!!)

Anyway a federal employee retired within the agency. The program manager indicated to me (in private) that a position has opened up and that if I would be interested, I could certainly apply. He had indicated that if I were interested that I would apply like normal, then let him know that I applied????

I looked up the job and found the salary is around 20K less than what I'm making (Max salary). Anyway, the other thing is that we are up for re-compete, is he "in a way" telling me that my company is losing??? So he wants me to come over to the other side!
someoldguy  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 11:07:56 AM(UTC)
someoldguy

Was thanked: 184 time(s) in 165 post(s)